Programming a Computer Controlled Nitrous System

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Sockheaven

Programming a Computer Controlled Nitrous System

Post by Sockheaven »

Hi Guys, Im new to programming chips, ive done a bit of it in class at school, however its all been on an integrated board, havent ever had to select my own chips and burn from scratch.<p>Although the burning from scratch isn't the part Im worried about, Im more interested in selecting the right chip for the job. Here's what I'm going to be doing with it:<p>Im envisioning a few operations happening in a chip. The chip would need to operate at a max speed of 4 times the max speed an engine would be operating - so say 9000RPM * 4 = 36000/60Sec = 600 Operations/sec, so unless Ive gone retarded over the summer, this doesnt need to have a very fast processor.<p>Now the rest of this is all preliminary and will need some extra electronics (power transistors, and what not), but heres the general gist.<p>2 Inputs:
1) MAF voltage 0 - 6V, with resolution to hundredths
2) rpm of the car (not sure what method of actually measuring this i want to use yet, but the end result will need to be a clock based on the rpm).<p>1 Output: binary output (high=on, low=off) for a duration in microseconds.<p>Operations:
1)Take in MAF sensor voltage, using a lookup table (also will need to be burned to the chip), i need to return a normalized value (with 16 bit bandwidth).