A beginner needs help

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Sven

A beginner needs help

Post by Sven »

Hi, i have a pc board kit and books and stuff about making all of this stuff but i am unsure of how to design my own pc board and stuff. How will i know if it works correctly and how do i know when things need to be put in and where. Also if anyone has some PCB Designs that i can try as a newbie i would love a pic of a layout. Thanks,
-Steve
Mike

Re: A beginner needs help

Post by Mike »

PCBs aren't exactly easy to make for a beginner.<p>for the easiest way, you need glossy laser paper, a laser printer, a layout on the PC, an iron, etchant, and rubbing alcohol.<p>Try searching the forum. I've posted many times how to make pcbs, and don't feel like going over it again and again. Maybe I'll add this to my website someday.<p>As for making the design, use Eagle Layout editor. www.cadsoft.de
Sven

Post by Sven »

I have etchant and circuit board and all that stuff i just dont understand how i would figure out what is needed to build a working circuit board. Like how do i figure out were a small resistor goes on the circuit board and why is it there etc.
Mike6158

Post by Mike6158 »

I second the recomendation to use Eagle. Someone here told me about it and I couldn't be more pleased with it. The freeware version is sufficient for a beginner.
"If the nucleus of a sodium atom were the size of a golf ball, the outermost electrons would lie 2 miles away. Atoms, like galaxies, are cathedrals of cavernous space. Matter is energy."
Mike6158

Post by Mike6158 »