adobe 9

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Post Reply
danbob
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:47 pm
Contact:

adobe 9

Post by danbob » Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:43 pm

with my old adobe I could out line a section of a schematic and then right click to get options one of these was to print the selected section of the page. I have up graded to adobe reader 9 and can no longer do this. is there any way to print a section of a page in adobe 9? Dan

User avatar
MrAl
Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: NewJersey
Contact:

Re: adobe 9

Post by MrAl » Wed Apr 15, 2009 11:14 am

Hi Dan,

My guess is that you can still select graphics, which i believe is what you were doing originally, but
perhaps with the new software it 'automatically' saves the selection to the chipboard.

What you can do is try selecting some graphics (after clicking on the right menu item) by holding
down the mouse button (as usual) and then after you let go of the mouse, go into another
application where you can paste pictures like bitmaps. Look on the menu for 'paste' and try
pasting whatever is on the clipboard into that application. You should see a picture appear
if it worked. I think it works this way so you should at least try this first.
LEDs vs Bulbs, LEDs are winning.

User avatar
reloadron
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: adobe 9

Post by reloadron » Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:30 pm

Hi Dan

I believe you are referring to the snapshot tool which is available in Acrobat Reader 9.0 as well as the ability to select specific sections of text. However, the use of these tools is dependent on how the PDF was set up when it was created. From the Menu bar you can click Document and then view the Security Settings, that will tell you what the document will or will not allow.

Ron

danbob
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:47 pm
Contact:

Re: adobe 9

Post by danbob » Thu Apr 16, 2009 4:55 pm

I tryed the document on a old laptop I had with adobe 6 and snap shot worked perfectly. I guess adobe 9 will not allow you to use snap shot on some older documents. On this document the snap shot icon does not even high lite on the tool bar.
danbob

User avatar
reloadron
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: adobe 9

Post by reloadron » Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:13 pm

I wish I had an older version to try and work with. Actually I likely do on an old program install disk, maybe I could throw it on an old laptop and experiment a little more with things.

Ron

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests