inverter question

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4540
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

inverter question

Post by dacflyer » Mon Jun 10, 2002 8:03 pm

i have a portable inverter 12vdc to 115ac volts<p>its a common type,, made by several mfg.
radio shack is the most common one..<p>it is a standard 140 watt inverter,,<p>if the power sw. is on..the unit has a delay before it will turn on,, what i want to know is,,
is there a way to by pass what ever is causing the delay so that the unit comes on instantly? and if so,, how?<p>i am wanting to use the inverter on a solar light system with a motion detector,, but when triggered,, there is a 2-5 second delay before the unit powers up... anyone having exp with this please let me know,,<p>2 models i have here is,,circuitry and look are identical,, ( made in china..lol ) figgures<p>AC Traveler / model APP-115 / made by Amperor INC.
and
radio shack #22-132

bodgy
Posts: 1044
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by bodgy » Mon Jun 10, 2002 11:24 pm

It is possible the delay is needed to either stop a current surge to the equipment at switch on, and/or, to prevent stress to the transformer and output drivers.<p>
bodgy
On a clear disk you can seek forever.

bwts
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: britain
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by bwts » Tue Jun 11, 2002 8:22 am

I suggest that you have the inverter already on and have some control cicuitry between it and the rest of the cicuitry to turn the light on and off I strongly recordmend that you dont remove the delay (probably a capacitor) as this will no doubt knacker your inverter!!!! :) B
"Nothing is true, all is permitted" - Hassan i Sabbah

Michael Vickers
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue May 21, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Barrie, Canada
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by Michael Vickers » Tue Jun 11, 2002 2:45 pm

Most likely this is a cheap modified sine wave inverter which likely will include a sizeable capacitor to hold up the AC voltage past the switching transformer as DC (which later gets switched into a modified AC sinewave). <p>If you try to defeat the circuitry the current inrush to the cap may blow the power electronics, or it may keep the cap from charging up to full voltage. <p>Either way, there's no way around it.

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4540
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by dacflyer » Tue Jun 11, 2002 3:06 pm

ok, i was just currious about it,,,<p>i use it with a flourscent light,,
2-3 second delay for the inverter to fire up and 1 secone for light to fire up,,, kind of a drawback,, and i do not want to leave the inverter on all the time, since this is a solar set up,, need to conserve power as much as possible,,,only constant load is the motion detector,,, well thanx for the replys guys,,

User avatar
jollyrgr
Posts: 1289
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Northern Illinois
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by jollyrgr » Mon Jun 24, 2002 3:57 pm

I have this same device (Radio Shack inverter) and mine has the delay so it is not a defect. My guess is that the delay is there so that the oscillator can be brought online and become stabilized before applying the 120 Volt output. Thus you do not get some strange high frequency pulse on the output.
No trees were harmed in the creation of this message. But billions of electrons, photons, and electromagnetic waves were terribly inconvenienced!

bwts
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: britain
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by bwts » Tue Jun 25, 2002 4:57 am

Why use an inverter at all? you can get DC floresant (iz that how u spell dat?) lights that run off batteries this would be alot more efficient and cut down your delay :) <p>Mr B
"Nothing is true, all is permitted" - Hassan i Sabbah

bwts
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: britain
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by bwts » Wed Jun 26, 2002 3:54 am

Just one more thought on the subject why not use Halogen bulbs??? No time delay no need for an inverter very bright (car headlamps etc.) very efficient (upto 11 hours of light with a well charged 12v battery)
B
"Nothing is true, all is permitted" - Hassan i Sabbah

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4540
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by dacflyer » Wed Jun 26, 2002 10:44 am

PS > the light i am using here with this project is a... Lights of America , model # 9266
gives a lot of light,, approx 2,580 lumens for about 65 watts,, very efficient ! :D

toejam
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2001 1:01 am
Location: n.c.
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by toejam » Tue Jul 02, 2002 2:40 pm

If that light can work on dc, you could operate it off a big cap while the invertor powers up if it was charged up and disconnected while the circut was turned off.

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4540
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by dacflyer » Tue Jul 09, 2002 2:42 pm

sorry the light is 120vac...Hmmm thanks anyway

ampedtech
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 1:01 am
Location: earth (for now)
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by ampedtech » Fri Aug 02, 2002 5:24 pm

Dear Mr. Flyer:
Be like mini-me and have it all!
Have the detetor feed two devices. You already have a system that works, just add a automotive head light and a timer relay, trigered from your dector.
Now, before you start whining about the current draw remember, the relay and lamp will only be on for a few seconds. Once the inverter and flouresent spool up the timer in/on/for the relay sez good night. <p>Now lets get REAl cool, check out Agilent tech. new line of VERY high out put LEDs. An array of 50 might rivel the brightness your current system. 50 LEDs would draw about 1 amp but, no inverter needed!<p>http://www.agilent.com/

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4540
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by dacflyer » Mon Aug 05, 2002 2:18 pm

ok, thanx,, i;ll look into it,, :)

rjjs
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Central N.J.
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by rjjs » Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:07 pm

What's feeding the detector, DC or AC? If Ac how is it getting power? Why not bypass the inverter
power switch with a photo cell arangement(DC) so that it turns on when dark out drawing just idle
current and turns off at daybreak? Measure the
idle current,it shouldn't be that much.

rjjs
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Central N.J.
Contact:

Re: inverter question

Post by rjjs » Thu Aug 22, 2002 8:09 pm

What's feeding the detector, DC or AC? If Ac how is it getting power? Why not bypass the inverter
power switch with a photo cell arangement(DC) so that it turns on when dark out drawing just idle
current and turns off at daybreak? Measure the
idle current,it shouldn't be that much.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests