Tektronix 465 scope no sweep

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
tdean1101
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:22 pm
Contact:

Tektronix 465 scope no sweep

Post by tdean1101 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:28 pm

My Tek 465 hasn't been used in a while and I noticed it has no sweep. I get a dot with the beam finder and see 2 dots when I connect a signal generator. I hope its not the famous 'U870' IC dead. The 15v, -8v, 55v, 110v, 5v are OK. Any ideas?

Dean Huster
Posts: 1263
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Harviell, MO (Poplar Bluff area)
Contact:

Re: Tektronix 465 scope no sweep

Post by Dean Huster » Tue Mar 03, 2009 3:59 pm

Don't get burned with an operator trap. Make sure all the triggering switches are in their top-most positions, AUTO and A selected on the sweep control, TIME/DIV knobs locked together and set for 1ms/div. If no sweep then, it's time to worry.

You know, I've repaired hundreds of the "new" 400-series in my career with Tektronix, and have NEVER had to replace that sweep control chip. If the scope had been sitting around for a long time with no use, suspect some switch contact contamination.

Dean
Dean Huster, Electronics Curmudgeon
Contributing Editor emeritus, "Q & A", of the former "Poptronics" magazine (formerly "Popular Electronics" and "Electronics Now" magazines).

R.I.P.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests