circuit board question

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
webster
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:01 am
Location: New England
Contact:

circuit board question

Post by webster » Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:57 pm

This is a basic question. On the prototype circuit boards that have rows and columns of holes with unconnected copper pads on the bottom side, how are the circuits connected to the components. Are jumper wires run into the same hole as the component and both are soldered at the same time?

User avatar
sofaspud
Posts: 531
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2002 1:01 am
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: circuit board question

Post by sofaspud » Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:16 pm

No. You would use wire-wrap or point-to-point wire connections. If two components are situated near to each other, the leads can often be bent and soldered together.

User avatar
philba
Posts: 2050
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: circuit board question

Post by philba » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:28 am

dontknow - what are you trying to do? built a one off circuit on the perf board or prototype a circuit for later construction as a PCB or just experimenting or ...?<p>The reason I ask is that I would only use perfboard for a one off project and a simple one at that. If you are experimenting or prototyping a circuit for later PCB, I'd get a solderless breadboard as that will allow you much more flexibility.<p>Frankly, the proto boards that just have a ring of copper around the holes aren't that usefull to me other than using the copper to hold sockets in. You can get protoboards with all sorts of patterns that make it, supposedly, easier to use. I've never found it THAT much of a benefit. Here's a supplier that has a number of them - http://www.circuitspecialists.com/level.itml/icOid/443
Uniboard and schmartboard have a lot of choices. Me, I just use unclad punchboard when I'd doing somthing. <p>Circuit Specialists is a reputable supplier, by the way.

Phil

EPA III
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:01 am
Location: Beaumont, TX
Contact:

Re: circuit board question

Post by EPA III » Wed Aug 24, 2005 6:21 pm

Proto boards come in a variety of styles and can be used in different ways. The single pad per hole is perhaps the most difficult and the most versitile. One technique I have seen is to mount the components with minimal solder and then wrap small diameter wire around the protruding ends of the part leads. Another technique I have used is to bend the longer leads over to reach adjacent pads and soldering them in place. Then, I have also placed staple like jumpers of fine wire (like #30 or smaller) between the pads first and then putting the components in them. Some, but not all, component leads will allow one or even two such wires to be in the same hole. <p>Of more use are the boards with rows of three connected pads that are arranged for the insertion of standard DIP devices. The DIP is inserted into two such rows of pads and the additional components and jumper wires are put in the outer holes. This is perhaps the most common breadboard style. <p>I would differ with the idea that proto boards are never used for production. I can remember a line of professional TV products that were made by Grass Valley Group that used a type of Vector board for production. The boards consisted of a 1/10" grid of holes that were connected with vertical traces on one side and horizontal traces on the other. The circuit paths were created by using a cutter to break the traces at the necessary places to create the pattern needed. I suspect that this process was automated with CNC machines. <p>In general, proto board use is limited only by your immagination. <p>Paul A.
Paul A.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests