Need some advice

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
stieljtes

Need some advice

Post by stieljtes »

Hello:

I am new to the hobby, but very interested in learning about robots, sensors, industrial control - anything / everything automatically controlled.

A friend of mine suggested completing a course that he has by Heathkit on programming and interfacing the intel 8085 microprocessor. However,
I was wondering if that technology is too old, and whether I would be better off going with a parallax what's a microcontroller, and a BOEBOT kit to get a foothold on automation and microcontrollers. It seems like the Heathkit 8085 course really gets into the nuts and bolts of the microprocessor, and I am wondering if that level of knowledge is necessary or even worth the trouble? The parallax kits really get you going fast on some very interesting projects, and it seems like there are numerous rescources available on programming and DIY projects using the basic stamps.

I would appreciate any suggestions or comments on what a proper education should include, given my interests. Thank you.
haklesup

Post by haklesup »

WHile you probably won't be using an 8085 in many projects, it would give you a firm foundation in processor archetecture and machine language. Some of that is still relevant and if you want to design at a lower level, this is a good start. WHat does the heath kit provide to interface to the processor to program it? An Emulator or is a serial UART part of the project.