How to best control and electromagnet with sound

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
rkennedy

How to best control and electromagnet with sound

Post by rkennedy »

O.k. I'm new to this, but I think I am starting out slowly enough with this one...

I want to do a project where sound controls and electromagnet, which in turn controls some magnetic fluid. Nothing fancy here. Just Audio ---> Magnet.

Here is what I think I know so far.... :)

A voice coil for a speaker is just a basic electromagnet. Via some testing, it doesn't seem to be a very powerful or efficient one. It doesn't need to be since it just bounces off the string permanent magnet in the speaker housing.

I have also deduced that a moderate audio amp will produce up to 6V A/C on the outputs. This of course varies with the input.

I have also found for sale some pretty powerful (they claim a 200lb holding force) electromagnets that run off of a single D cell. Which is IIRC 1.5V max.

Therefore I should be able to power an electromagnet off of an amp and get what I want....

BUT....

I am concerned that my HZ are way to high to effectively move the ferrofluid. All tweeter and no bass if you get my drift. It seems like I would need to bring the Hz way down to push around this stuff.

Any help here?
dacflyer

Post by dacflyer »

whats the purpose ? what are you trying to build ? whats it supposed to do ?

i have seen some metallic fluids , basically they are just like steel powder in a oil like mixture..

tell us more info on your desires what your trying to acomplish..
Chris Smith

Post by Chris Smith »

There are no free lunches in physics.

A large force from a small voltage MUST lose in other ways, and that said,... response time would be the first loss encountered.

Six of one, half dozen of another, keep in mind that any gain must accompany some kind of loss.
L. Daniel Rosa

Post by L. Daniel Rosa »