LM386

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
unknown_entity

LM386

Post by unknown_entity »

ok im looking at the pinout of this chip, can't make sense of it. I have never used op amps before so i not sure what goes to what.<p>8 Pin DIP
---------------------
.....Gain**1--o--8**Gain
..-Imput**2-----7**Bypass
.+Imput**3-----6**Vs
.....Gnd**4-----5**Vout<p>Better yet i tell ya what i want to do. i want to take the output of a 555 in the audio range(nothing really too low or hi) and use the 386 to drive a small 8ohm speaker or maybe a piezo.<p>I have no idea what gain and bypass do.<p>Correct me if im wrong:
*Vs and Gnd are power supply pins for the chip<p>*Vout is the amp's output (a zero or positive voltage? but never dropping below Gnd?)<p>*Then is Vout is a +voltage then i would sink
it to Gnd thru the speaker<p>*I'm guessing a pot in line with the gain will change the...well the gain of the amplifier.(but why is there 2 pins labeled gain? For cascading amps?)<p>anyone care to explain this or at least post a url.<p>Oh, one more thing is there any other chips that i could use in this applicaion because when powered by only 6V driving an 8ohm speaker the THD is already at 10% are all 386's this crappy or is it just the junky radio shack ones i have?<p>Or maybe thats the maximum tolerences one says 10% the other .2% i don't know.<p>[ April 16, 2003: Message edited by: unknown_entity ]</p>
hamsterears

Re: LM386

Post by hamsterears »