Vary the amplitude of AC signal using PIC

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
ljbeng
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:01 am
Location: South Central NE
Contact:

Vary the amplitude of AC signal using PIC

Post by ljbeng » Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:42 am

What would be the easiest way to use a PIC to vary the amplitude of an AC sin wave that is about 8Vpp and 1KHz? I need to vary the amplitude in at least 256 steps. I thought digital potentiometers might do it but I am not ANALOG enough to come up with a clean design. I always want the reference signal at 1:1 and I want to create another wave, in phase that has a varying amplitude. I will then need another wave 90 out of phase that I can also vary the amplitude. Thanks.

<small>[ December 29, 2005, 11:53 AM: Message edited by: ljbeng ]</small>

Ron H
Posts: 360
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Boise, ID
Contact:

Re: Vary the amplitude of AC signal using PIC

Post by Ron H » Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:14 pm

Check out this app note from Maxim.

User avatar
Chris Smith
Posts: 4325
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Bieber Ca.

Re: Vary the amplitude of AC signal using PIC

Post by Chris Smith » Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:20 pm

I think the venerable pot or resistor will suffice, assuming your only trying to vary the actual voltage? [Amplitude] A digital pot is the same thing.

ljbeng
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 1:01 am
Location: South Central NE
Contact:

Re: Vary the amplitude of AC signal using PIC

Post by ljbeng » Tue Jan 03, 2006 6:55 am

Thanks, I am going to try the AD5290, I ordered the evaluation kit from Analog Devices.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests