smps loading

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
User avatar
shillyard
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:01 am
Location: martinsburg wv
Contact:

smps loading

Post by shillyard » Sat Oct 21, 2006 5:36 am

I have a power supply I pulled from a 46 inch magnavox. I have tested as far as I can without loading down the secondary winding. I have a variable ac power supply but I need advice on what I can use as a load. I need something that is cheep as this is something I rarely work on.

User avatar
Chris Smith
Posts: 4325
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Bieber Ca.

Post by Chris Smith » Sat Oct 21, 2006 9:11 am

Depending on the rated voltage out put, low, med, or Hi, I use a lamp bulb to check for a load.

If you have a huge HV circuit, A spark gap [1/16"] can tell if your producing a voltage, or you can make a voltage divider out of several mega-ohm resistors and place a VOM on just one of them for a voltage reading

User avatar
shillyard
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:01 am
Location: martinsburg wv
Contact:

Post by shillyard » Sat Oct 21, 2006 9:36 am

I don't like the idea of causing an arc to see if there is voltage a resister and meter will do just fine to see if voltage is there but if i remember correctly I would need a resistor wattage of at lest 10 watts. I was thinking a small say 60 watt bulb ? Its been a wile since i have worked on these and I wanted a second opinion.
If its not worth repairing its not worth buying.

User avatar
Edd
Posts: 885
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Dallas Tx
Contact:

Post by Edd » Sat Oct 21, 2006 12:25 pm

Third Opinion:

Use ‘da lite-‘bub….its right on, at the 130 VDC spec of the derived regulated B+ secondary voltage.

Upon the bringing up of the primary AC voltage , the lamp might slowly vacillate a bit until you get the
voltage on up a bit onwards above the typical 70 VAC latch on threshold.

Image........MMMMMMMmmmm beeeeg scween Teee Weee !



73's de Edd
[email protected] ...........(Interstellar~~~~Warp~~~Speed)
[email protected].........(Firewalled*Spam*Cookies*Crumbs)
:grin: :razz: :grin:
.
.

In my car I have a full map of the United States, I should know, I spent a whole afternoon refolding it.Image

.

User avatar
shillyard
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:01 am
Location: martinsburg wv
Contact:

Post by shillyard » Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:49 pm

Thanks Edd. That was exactly the information I was looking for.
If its not worth repairing its not worth buying.

User avatar
Chris Smith
Posts: 4325
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Bieber Ca.

Post by Chris Smith » Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:19 pm

Unforntunately I dont know your voltage under load.

Low voltage such as 0 to 30 VS..... 120 plus, .....VS 1000 volts plus is all different.

For the HV, I use the simple arc, [small] for the lower voltages [120 and 12v] I use the bulb.

But I do own a a HV probe that can do 50kv easy, which is no more than a plastic wand, and several hundred Mega ohm resistors which I have also built long before i was given one, out of a fiberglass rod and 100 megs resistors. [cheap]

A lot of people think the arc is free running and thus get hysterical about it, ......its not.

It very approved to find a voltage this way as long as your not getting ridiculous about the test. Small gaps.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests