How can I build a variable speed controller for a slot c

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
stevo1

How can I build a variable speed controller for a slot c

Post by stevo1 »

Hi, Can anyone tell me the simplest way in the form of a turnable knob swich that I can vary the power to a slot car track so I can have a car running at a speed I choose and then race against it using a standard controller on the other track?
I have tried some volume/dimmer switches and have had them burn out almost immediatly.
The voltage is drawn from a standard Scalextric 15V transfromer and I believe there has in the past been commercially avalable "Ghost Car" varable controllers for this purpose.
I have little to no electronic experience but can do basic soldering.
Hope you can help.
Stevo.<p>[ March 30, 2005: Message edited by: stevo1 ]<p>[ March 30, 2005: Message edited by: stevo1 ]<p>[ March 30, 2005: Message edited by: stevo1 ]</p>
dacflyer

Re: How can I build a variable speed controller for a slot c

Post by dacflyer »

you cannot use a pot. or dimmer...what you need is a wire wound rheostat.. probably about 50 watts or more.. i have some here i think..
they are big and ceramic approx 3" wide..really heavy duty.. have to look in my boxes to see which ones i have.. got any spec. on the motor? like how many amps they draw at full load?
Mike

Post by Mike »

Slot cars are usually very tiny DC motors. Nothing big, the motor on mine is about an inch long, 1/2 inch tall, and 3/4 inch wide.
haklesup

Post by haklesup »