PIC/Stamp Microcontroler Where to Start

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
forrestgump

PIC/Stamp Microcontroler Where to Start

Post by forrestgump »

Hello I'm interested in getting into microcontrollers. I'm a computer tech but I don’t know a lot about programming. I do have some electronics training and I’m comfortable with basic circuits.
I have been looking at the nuts volts magazine and it seams the 2 big manufactures are Parallax and Basic Micro (Atom)
So what one is good and will be good for the future but is good to start with? I read that there are different types of languages that you can program with. Java basic or Pbasic? Assembly? Anyway I want to invest time into this but don't want to learn a language that will be obsolete in say 2 years. Also if anyone knows a good chip to start with it would be appreciated. I will probably start playing with some small robot projects but would like to learn to develop them for machine control. Currently at work I use Schneider Electric PLC’s and program them using a program called PL7. I use Ladder logic mainly to program them. We also use special cards for PID and heater control. Also for motion control for servos etc. Are there any type of add-ons chips for this type microcontroller? For motion etc.?<p>Thanks for your time I appreciate any info you can provide I don’t want to start off on the wrong foot!<p>Mark
[email protected]
Nova Scotia, Canada
bodgy

Re: PIC/Stamp Microcontroler Where to Start

Post by bodgy »

Just to be a little picky (pun sort of intended),