High Power Amps - guitar, car, PA, etc.

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
gjohnson

High Power Amps - guitar, car, PA, etc.

Post by gjohnson »

I'm an EE student and I'm currently taking a course that covers power amps. I live with two guitar players who would like to have me build them a good amplifier. I'm shooting for something in the 200-400W range for now, with the overall goal being to move into the 1000W neighboorhood. Think 'Back to the Future'. :D <p>Ideally this would be a Class A amp, but A/B would suffice. I'll play around with a Class C, but I haven't had the DSP coursework yet, so that's an on-the-horizon thing for now. <p>My question to you guys is two-fold. First, where do I go to find components that can dissipate this kind of heat? I looked at all the big names, Jameco, Digi-Key, etc, but I can't find a transistor that handles more than just a few watts, maybe 100 or so. Tubes would work, but I can't find any good documentation on how to design with them. Are there high-power bipolar dealers out there somewhere or do I have to use FETs? Also, where do I look for the high-performance transformers my instructors tell me I'll need? Will any over-the-counter unit work, or do I need a prescription?<p>The second part is an open-ended request for any tips, basic schematics, or anything else you guys might think would be useful to a fledgling amp designer. I know the basics of A, A/B and C class amps and some of the calculations involved therin, but I have yet to actually design one from scratch. Any tips?<p>Thanks a million!
Glenn Johnson
Electrical Engineer in Training
CSU, Chico<p>-- I am Kaiser Soze.
dyarker

Re: High Power Amps - guitar, car, PA, etc.

Post by dyarker »