Caps

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
greg123

Caps

Post by greg123 »

Hi,<p>I am new to electronics, and i have a capacator question. How does it pass ac but not dc. I have seen caps in dc circuits, and if they don't pass it, why use them? Or do they store dc and then realease it when discharged? THanks
Chris Smith

Re: Caps

Post by Chris Smith »

There is no electrical path for direct current to pass through. There is a dielectric insulator stopping a DC current from flowing.<p>In AC, a magnetic flux induces a current in the opposite side conductor to create a flux or magnetic push/pull which in turn affects the circuit on the other side to generates a AC current flow. <p>Think of it like a "transformer" where each winding is not directly connected, but still generates current flow on the opposite coils.<p>Its magnetically "induced" across the cap for simple sake or explanation. <p>When positive charged electrons is at one lead, negative charged electrons on the other half migrate to the other lead. When you pus/ pull, this becomes a Ac Current flow.<p>[ September 07, 2002: Message edited by: Chris Smith ]</p>
Ron H

Post by Ron H »