556 timer triggering problem

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
flattop

556 timer triggering problem

Post by flattop »

Hello all,<p>I'm new to electronics and am trying to build an event triggered stroboscope by piecing together bits of this and that from the internet. The idea is to use an IR LED and a phototransitor to detect a tab on a spinning wheel and trigger a timer, in this case a 556 in momostable mode (I didn't have a 555 handy), to produce a constant length pulse which turns on a super bright LED.<p>Image<p>The problem I'm having is that the phototransistor circuit won't trigger the 556. If I manually connect the trigger to ground, the timer fires the LED. The transistor Q1 won't and I can't figure out why not. What am I missing?<p>Thanks for any help,
FlatTop
rstofer

Re: 556 timer triggering problem

Post by rstofer »

I think I would remove the differentiator (R1,C2) and try DC coupling.<p>Alternately, I would increase the size of the capacitor. Maybe 1 ufd - anything to guarantee that I could pull the trigger input down to zero. I'm not sure the existing circuit will do that.
jimandy

Post by jimandy »

Or try a higher value for R1 - say 50k~100k.<p>Also, I'm thinking if you used a CMOS 555 (or 556) you might could do away with Q1.
"if it's not another it's one thing."
Gorgon

Post by Gorgon »

Hi,