Dynamo- radios

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
tonybackache
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:01 am
Location: AR
Contact:

Dynamo- radios

Post by tonybackache » Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:24 pm

I'm lucky to have a Rural Electric Coop as my electrical company.
Dependability is a dirty word.
Have been observing on e-bay http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... Track=true
Curious if anyone has experience with this or other Dynamo type radios?

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4559
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by dacflyer » Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:34 pm

yup. friends got one that we use a lot.. we share :p
we can wind it up and it will jam for about 2 hrs
it has a combination of dynamo+cap set up
its been very reliable.. just be sure not to overwind it..

User avatar
jollyrgr
Posts: 1289
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Northern Illinois
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by jollyrgr » Wed Sep 29, 2004 6:44 am

I have the a couple of the Baygen radios and I like them a lot. I have not tried the one you linked to so I cannot offer any advice on that particular model.<p>DO NOT repeat DO NOT buy the Grundig wind up radio from Radio Shack thinking you are getting a real Grundig radio. These are not anywhere near what used to be Grundig quality. Apparently some US company licensed the Grundig name and is having cheap radios built with the Grundig name slapped on them.<p>The little pocket radios with flashlight, alarm, etc. that you can crank are junk. I'm referring to items such as this:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 30095&rd=1<p>I have not tried this particular model but have used similar types. The reception and construction of this style is very low end.
No trees were harmed in the creation of this message. But billions of electrons, photons, and electromagnetic waves were terribly inconvenienced!

Bob Haller
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 1:01 am
Location: pittsburgh pa
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by Bob Haller » Sun Oct 03, 2004 5:13 am

I added a UPS to my tv satellite tv. now a hour power failure isnt a big thing. mostly I did this because the reboot time for the satellite reciver, like a tivo, with records to hard drive. its 3 minute reboot, and thats a lot with a power burp during prime time.

User avatar
Bob Scott
Posts: 1192
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Vancouver, BC
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by Bob Scott » Sun Oct 03, 2004 9:41 am

Tony, Thanks for posting that radio for sale. I just went to that URL and saw what else they had for sale and bought a KA1102 shortwave radio.<p>Bob :cool:
-=VA7KOR=- My solar system includes Pluto.

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4559
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by dacflyer » Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:18 am

:) )it has such rich sound,and i love the slit eye tuning tube.
i also got a Telefünken radio as well
when my grandma worked at Grundig , her job was winding transformers :D

tonybackache
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:01 am
Location: AR
Contact:

Re: Dynamo- radios

Post by tonybackache » Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:29 pm

Well I got my radio yesterday. Oh what a let down. Size of radio 5"x8" tiny. Digital display and the dynamo crank wouldn't work at all. Seller won't refund but will replace with another cheap piece of Chinese junk.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests