8086/8087 SBC

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
codecat

8086/8087 SBC

Post by codecat »

Hi all...<p>This is my first post to this forum...<p>I am looking for a maximum mode 8086 SBC with an 8087 stackable daughter board (preferably PC104). If as I suspect, there are no such objects left in this world, I would really like to find some circuit diagrams of an 8086-8087 SBC, so that I can have the boards made. I need this to be able to interface with standard stackable I/O and controll boards. I do not need any on board keypads or numeric displays, although the display would be nice. I will program the device either with an RS232 link to a pc or with a programmed ROM. Any ideas on this would be most welcome.<p>I have done a lot of searching on google, but that has been rather useless. I am a fairly decent 8085 programmer, but I need the mathematical umph that the 16 bit 8086 and 8087 FPU would give me...<p>This will be used in conjunction with several other u-processors and u-controllers for a robotics project.<p>Thank you in advance,<p>73,
Joe
Cats are the Creator's way of demonstrating to mankind that man is not the supreme being.
dyarker

Re: 8086/8087 SBC

Post by dyarker »

Take a look at uM-FPU Floating Point Coprocessor. It can probably be driven by what ever uC or uP you're already using.
Dale Y
philba

Post by philba »

Do you need a real 8086? The reason I ask is there are lots of x86 based boards out there that are quite a lot faster than even the fastest 8086 going. For example, check out soekris stuff. Their 133 mhz 486 board is $156, quantity one. These have lots of ethernet on them so its not the cheapest possible. <p>Phil
codecat

Post by codecat »