Temperature reader from different rooms.

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Nielubie

Temperature reader from different rooms.

Post by Nielubie »

I'm looking to create a temperature reader for several locations, up to 12 locations in my little kit. This is for Apartment buildings, I want to be able to install a sensor next to the thermostat and be able to read the temperature remotely in the utility room. As you probably already know, some people complain that its too cold in the winter, etc so I would like to be able to get instant readings of their apartment. Maybe even get a logger like every 15min or 60 min working to help determine issues.

So, can anyone suggest parts to use or what I will need? I'm basic with programing, i know a little of VB if needed, scripting, PHP, HTML, I'm not a pro at it. I also tried working with the Arduino a little and i think I can handle that and I tried another system that I got working but it worked with a 4 wire temperature reader.

I'm looking for something that would work on 1 wire or max 2 wires if possible, plus I'm trying to keep the thermometer as small as possible near the thermostat so its not an eye sore. Any suggestions would be great, links, pictures, plans, anything.

Thanks so much,

-Pete
psycho

Re: Temperature reader from different rooms.

Post by psycho »

Take a peek at these:

http://para.maxim-ic.com/en/search.mvp? ... ree=master

The 1820 series are used widely with hobbyists so there are alot of sample projects out there on the net.