Op Amp Selection

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Sambuchi

Op Amp Selection

Post by Sambuchi »

Hello all, I have a question! :?

When selecting the perfect op amp for a design what do you look for in the datasheet?

Say I want to amplify a 50ns pulse wit a period of 90us
I want to amplify it 60x
I am not restricted with the power supply.

I know I have to look at the gain bandwidth of the product but I am not sure what variable can tell me how wide the widow is...
then there's slew rate.. what is a slew? :lol:

I'm new to this analog stuff.. so guide me wise ones!
MrAl

Re: Op Amp Selection

Post by MrAl »

Hi there,

Slew rate is an important spec about an op amp. It tells us how fast the output can rise or fall
in response to an input, and can not go any faster than the slew rate spec. The slew rate
is usually given in units of volts per microsecond. Volts per microsecond simply means that
the output voltage can rise (or fall) at that rate but not any faster.

For example, lets say we have an op amp with slew rate that is 1 volt per microsecond (1v/us).
That means that no matter what the input is the output can only change at the rate of 1v
every microsecond and that's the fastest it can change. Now if the inputs and the gain
were set up so that the output SHOULD be 3v and the output right now is 0v, it will take
3us before the output will actually reach this level of 3v. Note that this is a serious
limitation of the op amp and needs to be considered carefully for any kind of input
waveform. Also note that during the slewing time period (in our example from 0v to 3v)
the output wave is a ramp no matter what the input is, unless of course the input changes
during this time in a way which would force the output to stop changing.

It's interesting that no matter what the input goes to (as long as it forces the output to change)