NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
Post Reply
USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:53 pm

I have a sony flat panel 32 in. tv. it is an lcd monitor. 60 Hz, 300 w. I turned it on one day, and there was no picture or sound. There is power, but other than that, nothing. I took it for an estimate and nobody can tell me exactly what is wrong with it. I really hate to throw it away, maybe because of it's sentimental value. I need someone's expertise in the matter.
It will be alot cheaper to fix this and put it in my son's room, than buy a new one.

please, help. Thanks alot.

User avatar
Janitor Tzap
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by Janitor Tzap » Sat Dec 12, 2009 12:56 pm

AJUDEA,

It sounds like capacitors in the power supply have failed.

But without any more information, as to the Model Number of the set.
And not having it in front of me to test.

I really can't say.

There are some Sony Power Supply boards available from Matelectronics.
http://www.matelectronics.com
If you want to just replace the Power Supply board.
That would be the easiest thing to do.
Then repair the old board, and put it a side in case you may need it later.


Signed: Janitor Tzap

USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Sat Dec 12, 2009 1:50 pm

Thanks janitor, that is really some helpful infos you've provided. i really appreciate it.
i will definitely try the site, and hopefully see if i can just replace the supply.

sghioto
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 5:16 pm
Location: N. Florida
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by sghioto » Sat Dec 12, 2009 4:52 pm

USMC_AJUDEA,

Can you bring the "menu" up on the screen? If so then you probably just need to reset the TV back to the origional factory settings using the remote. This should be explained in the owner's manual.

Steve G.

USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Sun Dec 13, 2009 2:23 pm

i can't even open main menu, the screen is actually all black. so, i just hope that it is something simple. i really appreciate your input. i am currently taking c.e.e.t, so hopefully the tuition i pay the school doesnt go to waste. he he he.

User avatar
jwax
Posts: 2150
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:01 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by jwax » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:58 am

Any fuses or circuit breakers? Google the Make and Model # along with "problems with" and see if there's a routine problem for that model.

USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Thu Dec 17, 2009 10:16 am

THANK YOU AGAIN FOR ALL THE INSIGHTS.

Ken1
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 1:01 am
Location: Sandy Lake, Manitoba
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by Ken1 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:09 pm

If you are mechanically inclined, take it apart and check the power supply board for bad electrolytics; the bad ones usually have bulged ends; replace them and it should fix the problem. I have successfully repaired several flat screen sets this way. One set; a 46" plasma was only 13 months old and 1 month off warranty when it went dead. Problem: 1 bulged electrolytic; replacement fixed the tv.

USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Wed Dec 30, 2009 9:02 am

i got the sound working finally, it turns out that it was muted, but unfortunately, there is still no pictures. so the best way to get this tv working would be to replace the chip? or just buy a new tv?

dyarker
Posts: 1708
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Izmir, Turkiye; from Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by dyarker » Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:05 am

...it turns out that it was muted...
If sound was muted, is it possible video source is also selected wrong?

Was someone "playing" with remote control? Do you get anything on screen when you push "menu" on remote control?
Dale Y

User avatar
Janitor Tzap
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by Janitor Tzap » Wed Dec 30, 2009 2:41 pm

USMC_AJUDEA wrote:i got the sound working finally, it turns out that it was muted, but unfortunately, there is still no pictures. so the best way to get this tv working would be to replace the chip? or just buy a new tv?
How did you find out that it was MUTED?
By playing with the MUTE button on the remote?
Did you see the work MUTE on the screen?

If you got the audio back by playing with the remote, but could see no message on the screen.

Get a strong flash light and shine it on the screen.
Look carefully at it for signs of video.
If you can barely make out an image.
Then the problem is in the back light invert, or CFL Bulbs.
More bad caps most likely.


Signed: Janitor Tzap

USMC_AJUDEA
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:39 pm
Contact:

Re: NEED HELP WITH MY 32 FLAT PANEL TV

Post by USMC_AJUDEA » Thu Dec 31, 2009 1:31 pm

couldnt find the remote, i played around with the volume, then the sound came on, i will try that flashlight thing, hopefully i can figure what is wrong with the tv. thanks fells, i really appreciate it

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests