Electronic Books

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
cconn86031

Electronic Books

Post by cconn86031 »

I am new to electronics and would like any reccomendations on what books would be a good start on learning electronics or perhaps online courses. I have a degree in electrical engineering , but it was in control theory and not electronics. Also I got my degree in 1980 so everything has changed. Any help would be appreciated.
Bob Scott

Re: Electronic Books

Post by Bob Scott »

cconn86031 wrote:I am new to electronics and would like any reccomendations on what books would be a good start on learning electronics or perhaps online courses. I have a degree in electrical engineering , but it was in control theory and not electronics. Also I got my degree in 1980 so everything has changed. Any help would be appreciated.
That is interesting and a bit puzzling, cconn86031. I'm sure everyone is a little taken aback by your question about "starting" to learn about electronics. Where would an EE start? An EE should be finished, if not well on his way. Which University did you get your EE degree from? Which courses did you take?
-=VA7KOR=- My solar system includes Pluto.
haklesup

Post by haklesup »

I'm sure you must have gotten basic electronics theory like ohms law, power equasions, thevinin and nortin and all that good stuff but I can also see forgetting all that in 30 years if you didn't use it. (To those who never went to school for engineering, it can seem like one really long calculus course, nothing at all like a technicians course in a trade school, except for a few lab classes here and there. Even 20 years ago, little was taught about IC chips beyond some op amps and a basic uProcessor like the 68000, I can imagine 30 years ago, being just [LRC] networks and transistors and a lot of theory)