car alarm

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
notstock78

car alarm

Post by notstock78 »

I am a student at Northwest Tech and I am trying to build a car alarm for my advanced lab progect. I want to use the idea of a touch lamp so when someone touches the door handle it will trip the alarm. could anyone give me some idea to start from?
chessman

Re: car alarm

Post by chessman »

not sure if this helps much...
I do remember reading touch lamps do something with detecting changes in capacitive levels..i think... i don't know how you could apply that to a car, i'm way outta my league here but i thought i'd contribute my thought.<p>~Kyle
russlk

Post by russlk »

Touch lamps use an IC made for that purpose. You could buy one and take it apart (a touch lamp), or US Digital makes the LS7232 IC which you may be able to find. These sites will provide more info:<p>http://www.lsicsi.com/newprod_files/press4.html<p>http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bin/c ... type=store<p>http://www.xs4all.nl/~ganswijk/chipdir/c/u.htm<p>www.usdigital.com/products
Edd

Post by Edd »

notstock78……..= 25 yr old hotrod(der) ???<p>Was the detection mode assigned by your instructor, or your idea ?, if him , I think he planned to challenge you !