FM transmitter troubleshooting

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
soft2

FM transmitter troubleshooting

Post by soft2 »

I have an FM transmitter that I depend on to use my phone. In fact, I can't use my phone without it! I'm hearing impaired and the transmitter transmits the audio signal to receivers on each of my hearing aids. The reliability of the device is poor and it costs $300+ to get it serviced, and usually they just replace it (looks like an inexpensive gadget). I'd like to try and repair it myself this time so I don't have to wait 3 weeks to get it back but I have no experience with FM transmitters. It looks like a very simple device - a small, low density 2 layer pc board with a phone jack and power receptacle (for 9V AC) on the edge. It's made by Phonak in Switzerland.

A new unit costs only a little more than the repair fee so I don't have much to lose. Plus if I learn some things I might be able to build some other devices to work with this system; there are other gadgets I'd like to hear that Phonak doesn't make a tx for. I have experience programming microcontrollers and some electronics but no audio devices or FM. I have an oscilloscope.

So my question for this group is where can I learn more about this type of thing? And how would i start troubleshooting the device? You can set the FM frequency with dip switches between 214.0 Mhz and 220.0 Mhz. My unit is set for channel N12 which is somewhere in that range.

Thanks!
jwax

Post by jwax »

Welcome to the forum soft2!
Since you sound familiar with electronics, I'd suggest you take a good look at the transmitter, looking for defective battery contacts, loose wires, cracks in the circuit board- basically a visual inspection to see if the defect can be seen.
Can you determine that the power for the transmitter is adequate?