Question about PIC?

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Post Reply
Novorski
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:01 pm
Contact:

Question about PIC?

Post by Novorski » Thu May 01, 2008 4:04 pm

I did what the article about programming PIC says in May issue of N&V.
When I compiled by pressing f10, I got this message:
ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Halting build on first failure as requested.

What's the problem?

Franklin97355
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 10:00 pm
Contact:

Post by Franklin97355 » Thu May 01, 2008 8:13 pm

A little bit more information would help. What code are you trying to compile and what compiler are you using? What chip and how do you have it hooked up? Things like that.

User avatar
MrAl
Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: NewJersey
Contact:

Post by MrAl » Fri May 02, 2008 4:39 am

Hi there,


I could be wrong, but ti sounds to me like your software can not find the
file "mpasmwin.exe". This file is needed by the IDE to run the MPASM
assembler. I think if it can not find this file it can not compile the code.

There is usually a way to set the location of where this file is somewhere
in the IDE. You'll have to find it i guess.
I could also be that the file somehow got deleted in which case you
will probably have to reinstall the IDE.

I guess you are using MPLAB?

Just guessing here so good luck.
LEDs vs Bulbs, LEDs are winning.

Novorski
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Novorski » Fri May 02, 2008 7:18 am

Franklin97355 wrote:A little bit more information would help. What code are you trying to compile and what compiler are you using? What chip and how do you have it hooked up? Things like that.
I'm trying to follow the instruction in this month N&V, so I'm using the software they provided. I'll worry about putting on chip later on, first I'd like it to compile something.

Novorski
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Novorski » Fri May 02, 2008 7:25 am

MrAl wrote: I could be wrong, but ti sounds to me like your software can not find the
file "mpasmwin.exe". This file is needed by the IDE to run the MPASM
assembler. I think if it can not find this file it can not compile the code.

There is usually a way to set the location of where this file is somewhere
in the IDE. You'll have to find it i guess.
I could also be that the file somehow got deleted in which case you
will probably have to reinstall the IDE.

I guess you are using MPLAB?
Yeah, I'm using MPLAB (the lastest version). I've tried to follow the directions from this website http://melabs.com/support/mplab.htm but I can't get past this part:

' Windows 2000/XP

The path statement is found in the Environment Variables dialog box. To get there, right-click the My Computer icon on your desktop and select Properties.

Click the Advanced tab, then the button labeled Environment Variables.... Find the Path variable in the System Variables window, highlight the line, and click Edit. '


I don't have button labeled Environment Variables there.

Bigglez
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Question about PIC?

Post by Bigglez » Fri May 02, 2008 8:31 am

*** Redacted by poster ***

Bigglez
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:39 pm
Contact:

Post by Bigglez » Fri May 02, 2008 8:41 am

*** Redacted by poster ***

User avatar
MrAl
Posts: 3862
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: NewJersey
Contact:

Post by MrAl » Sat May 03, 2008 6:23 am

Hi again,

Novorski: You could try Bigglez's suggestion, but i was talking
about something different. There is a point in the MPLAB software
itself that allows you to set the path of the exe file: mpasmwin.exe
and that does the 'build' or 'compile'. I think it is possible to
enter this information when you start a new project, but unfortunately
i forgot exactly where it is and i had to reinstall my op sys recently
to do some other maintenance so i cant start up MPLAB without
reinstalling it again. Since i intend to do this eventually again anyway
however, maybe ill try it later this afternoon and then i can tell you
exactly where in the software this path setting is. In the mean time,
if you start a new 'dummy' project and look at all the dialog boxes
carefully you may find it yourself without too much trouble because
i think that is when it asks you for it. You can always delete the dummy
project once you find the setting. You might also look in the help
file within MPLAB.


ADDED A LITTLE LATER:

Ok, it's under the main menu of MPLAB:
Project\Set Language Tool Locations
then on the list expand "Microchip MPASM Toolsuite".
then expand "Executables"
then select "MPASM Assembler"
and that will activate the "Location" edit box which will allow you to
enter the correct path.
Of course you may need to do a search first to find out where
executable file is before you start to change the location. You
could use Windows Explorer for this task.
LEDs vs Bulbs, LEDs are winning.

Novorski
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 4:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Novorski » Sat May 03, 2008 9:32 am

Bigglez wrote:Greetings (No First name Supplied),

Go here: Start -> rgtclk My Computer -> properties -> Environment Variables

Here's mine (This PC has Windows XP Pro OS):
Image

Comments Welcome!
That's right, it works now. Before, I clicked at the My Computer icon on a desktop and I didn't get those two windows. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests