is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Post Reply
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4387
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by dacflyer » Mon Mar 19, 2012 5:12 am

here at work there has gotten a glitch that IT cannot fix for the last few months.
i was wondering if anyone here might know what might be the cause..

when logging off you get a log off error "c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"
and you have to click it to make it close, or you will not be logged off..
any ideas ?

User avatar
Janitor Tzap
Posts: 1416
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 5:17 pm
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by Janitor Tzap » Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:56 am

dacflyer wrote:here at work there has gotten a glitch that IT cannot fix for the last few months.
i was wondering if anyone here might know what might be the cause..

when logging off you get a log off error "c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe"
and you have to click it to make it close, or you will not be logged off..
any ideas ?
Hey Dacflyer,
Well.....
I did some searching on Wild Woolley Web.
From the gist I got, it is a problem in Windows XP server.
Something about when adding new machines to an already setup network. :???:

The one solution that I found, that the IT guy used.
Was to disconnect all the computers on the intranet, backup the data from each one.
Then wipe them all, then put in a fresh install of XP on all of them.
Reconnect them all, check for the glitch.
If it was gone, then reload the backup onto the individual computers.
Note:
He only had to do this on a small home network, 4 computers.

Thus,
I can see why your IT guy would be reluctant too do something that radical for something so trivial. :roll:


Signed: Janitor Tzap

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4387
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by dacflyer » Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:31 pm

they need to do something.. were still using win 2000 on some machines in the city..
and almost no one had WIn7.
you wouldn't think that the city has such a crummy computer system.
takes forever to log on and even longer to log off..

User avatar
kheston
Posts: 348
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 1:01 am
Location: CA
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by kheston » Mon Oct 22, 2012 9:44 pm

Dac,

Try running msconfig and looking through all the tabs for cmd.exe or command.com or just "cmd". Look for *.bat as well. A batch file may be trying to run a process at shutdown or there may be something executing at startup that never completes. Post-install scripts are notorious for leaving these sorts of remnants around.

As to your IT guys, I'll bet it's not so much an intelligence thing as it is a prioritization thing.

--K
Kurt - SF Bay

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4387
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by dacflyer » Tue Oct 23, 2012 4:48 am

its very elusive,,me and it worked for hrs last week, we used several programs to try to find it..
we found several places that the problem was, but yet it comes back,, we cannot find what ever it is that's calling for the CMD to start up. we have used CCleaner that helped the most,, we have shut down a lot of programs that were not needed and used registry cleaner/fixers. IT finally gave up for now...but on the good side the computer here runs a lot faster...practically pop up now..but still has that annoying pop up at log off..

User avatar
haklesup
Posts: 2933
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 1:01 am
Location: San Jose CA
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by haklesup » Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:27 pm

CMD is the process that is the DOS window. Some program is trying to run a command line instruction and the program it is calling is missing or moved. You do not get the error from the calling program or the missing one, you are only seeing the highest level error from the hidden DOS process. With Win 2k, you might be using a 3rd party networking utility rather than one built into windows. Try poking around its scripts especially if you are using something like Novell.

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4387
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: is IT not very smart here ? ( at work )

Post by dacflyer » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:49 pm

i would try to poke around. but anything i try... i get ( you do not have permission,, yadda yadda)
i have no admin rights.. its funny it is a problem on all computers on the city network.
1 IT guy tried to fix it, and gave up.. i sat and watch him remote connected,, and he did all sorts of stuff. and nothing ever worked.. he thought he found it a few times. but each time it came back.
from what i can gather, i think there is about 4 IT guys there...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests