Forms Software

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Post Reply
User avatar
Lenp
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Forms Software

Post by Lenp » Thu Nov 24, 2011 5:01 am

We must use a multi-part printed form from a customer for the work we do for them.
The form has lines and check boxes, and the required data is not too dense.

What I am looking for is software that would replicate the form and speed the processing, especially if there are multiple forms needed with the same basic information. I've looked at trials for some of the available 'forms' software and so far they seem to be more problem then they are a benefit. I really don't want to go the custom software route.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

Len
Len

“To invent, you need a good imagination and a big pile of junk.” (T. Edison)
"I must be on the way to success since I already have the junk". (Me)

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4428
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: Forms Software

Post by dacflyer » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:15 pm

i have seen people make almost any form they want with microsoft XL program.
i have no exp. with it. but maybe someone else might.

User avatar
reloadron
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:57 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Forms Software

Post by reloadron » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:13 am

Hi Lemp

While I have not messed with it lately I have used and like Microsoft InfoPath which is now at version 2010 I believe. Depending on what you call inexpensive it retails solo at about $229 from Microsoft and was included in the higher end Microsoft Office bundles. One nice feature is it works seemlessy with other MS Office products. If you have any questions just ask.

Ron

User avatar
Lenp
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Maryland
Contact:

Re: Forms Software

Post by Lenp » Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:53 am

Hi relodron,

We need to do forms filling. These are preprinted multi-part forms. The problem with using most 'canned' software is getting the spacing to match the form. Ideally you could import a scanned form image and create a fill-in-the blanks model. Since I'm not familiar with InfoPath, can it handle something like this?

I wrote some forms filling software for the photographic industry ages ago in QBasic and I'm close dusting that off and making changes but really don't want to do it!!!

Thanks,

Len
Len

“To invent, you need a good imagination and a big pile of junk.” (T. Edison)
"I must be on the way to success since I already have the junk". (Me)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests