IE loading

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Post Reply
User avatar
jwax
Posts: 2205
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:01 am
Location: NY
Contact:

IE loading

Post by jwax » Sun Jun 26, 2011 6:20 am

Internet Explorer often results in the message "Cannot connect at this time".
Tried CCleaner, ScanDisk, etc. to no avail.
Is there an application that repairs IE?
Thanks!

dobrien
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:01 am
Contact:

Re: IE loading

Post by dobrien » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:33 pm

You might try to reset the Internet Explorer. It wipes out add ons, toolbars and cookies.
Just do a search in the Expplorer for rest.

User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: IE loading

Post by dacflyer » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:44 am

if you do reset exploder....does it also wipe out your personal setting and preferences ?

User avatar
jwax
Posts: 2205
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:01 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Re: IE loading

Post by jwax » Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:38 am

I ran "Microsoft Fix-it" from here:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737

Not the same as a "reset", but seems much better, no changes in my IE settings or preferences.

Thanks dobrien! :mrgreen:

dobrien
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:01 am
Contact:

Re: IE loading

Post by dobrien » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:00 am

I think there is an option to delete or not to delete your personal settings.

User avatar
jwax
Posts: 2205
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:01 am
Location: NY
Contact:

Re: IE loading

Post by jwax » Fri Jul 01, 2011 12:17 pm

Also, found a big improvement in speed of opening pages, running video, etc. by removing the Google Toolbar. Those add-ons can be a drain!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests