ROBO ARM FOR MY PC

Interested in Robotics? Here's the place to be.
DAMNNATIONX

ROBO ARM FOR MY PC

Post by DAMNNATIONX »

Where to start :D
Im building a mod for my pc:D
i want 2 robo arms one each side to function through xp. on boot up id like them to go from one pre programed position to a second pre programed position. and on shut down to revert to original positions. idealy the movents could be programed in via xp based software and saved and that the arms be connected to back of pc or internaly.

I must warn im a complete novice and would liek a step by step instruction guide on how to build and program this no matter how long it takes.

So my question is has anyone tried this before or done it? if so where do i start? idealy id like to purchase parts software and build it step by step like a puzzle so if anyone can advise me id be greatly appreciated..

8) thanks in advance
jaem

Post by jaem »

Can you give us a bit more info? Is this purely decorative, or do the arms serve a function while the computer is on?
You could use servomotors, but they can be a bit pricey. Sites like http://parallax.com sell them, although if you're in the US and don't want to pay shipping, I've seen servos for the VEX kit for $10/each. (Darn you Americans and your good electronics stores... just kidding ;) I would note they have a nonstandard pin order on the cable, so don't just plug them in according to a general pinout.

Do you have a laptop or desktop? Which part of the computer are these going to be mounted on?

Also, what interface to the computer do you want? A COM port would probably be the simplest, since USB requires a hefty (e.g. $1500, I think) fee every couple of years for a Vendor ID. It also has good programming support.
Do you have any programming experience? It likely wouldn't be too hard to do, but there aren't many people who would have the time to code something for someone else's one-time mod. (at least for free)