WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Interested in Robotics? Here's the place to be.
Post Reply
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

as some of you know i been working on a GPS clock. it is mostly done with the exceptions of a few bugs that are still being worked out. i brought it to work one day and was not able to get a signal because of our steel roof :(
anyway i started to think of ways to make another kind of clock that could work indoors.
i was thinking if it was possible to get time from the wifi in the building?
i have heard of some clocks get time from Ethernet or so i think.
does anyone know what i am thinking of and how i could make it happen ?
i was looking at using a ESP8266 micro wifi module, arduino or such, and my display.
perhaps i may use a 2 line led module to show time and date.
and of course i will use larger led displays as i always like to do..lol
any ideas anyone ? i'll try to post on the arduino site as well..
dyarker
Posts: 1917
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Izmir, Turkiye; from Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dyarker »

Time from WIFI itself, No.

That WIFI provides a wireless network connection, and there can be a time server on the network, or the network can connect to the Internet where there are many time servers based on atomic clocks; then Yes you can get time over WIFI.

In addition to TCP/IP stack (software) for your microcontroler, you'll need Network Time Protocol (NTP) or other network time software.
Dale Y
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

so NTP is not naturally on the router or wifi ?
if that is so, then i'll have to think something else.

what about getting time from a cell tower ? after all all cell phones are accurate..
perhaps using a old cell phone ? any ideas? or is that too difficult ?
dyarker
Posts: 1917
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Izmir, Turkiye; from Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dyarker »

How long would the coax have to be to use a separate GPS antenna outside? Or longer serial connection from GPS unit with veiw of sky to clock? (If more than 15-20ft, then RS-422 would work better than RS-232).
Dale Y
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

length would be about 50ft.
how would i go about changing the serial type ? and still get power to the GPS ?
serial converter and cat5 ?
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

i found this today,,,maybe i can learn this..
have to get a different arduino than i have now...

http://blog.riyas.org/2014/03/a-simple- ... nners.html
dyarker
Posts: 1917
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Izmir, Turkiye; from Rochester, NY
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dyarker »

You're getting power over RS-232 connection?????????????? :?

At 50ft, with good guality RG-52, you could move just the antenna.
Dale Y
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

nope, my gps gets power directly from control board... power plus serial ( 5V - Gnd - TX - RX )
User avatar
CeaSaR
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by CeaSaR »

Have you thought about using a RTC unit and using the GPS to update the RTC? That way, it would keep time when there is little to no signal.

CeaSaR
Hey, what do I know?
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

well the GPS has a RTC, but i do not know how to activate it.. right now if i plug the clock in, there is no RTC, just 88:88:88 til the GPS catches the signal..

the GPS i am using is like this.. "gy-gps6mv2"
http://kitsguru.com/index.php?route=pro ... uct_id=440
User avatar
CeaSaR
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by CeaSaR »

Dac,
I found this link:
http://www.amateurradio.com/cheap-gps-module/
which has some info you may need. There is a text link to the GPS board schematic shown with the ubiquitous " click here".

I don't see any RTC listed on that board, just the 1 pps pin (TIMEPULSE) that drives the LED. Since I am unsure of how this board fully functions, this is what I can give you at the moment.

CeaSaR
Hey, what do I know?
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

ya, i read that site a week ago.. that type of GPS does have RTC also, but i still do not find info on how to activate the RTC. the small button battery is the give-a-way that it has RTC on board, but how to activate it is my delema.
User avatar
CeaSaR
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by CeaSaR »

This site http://www.larsleonhardt.com/gps-2/ says the battery is only for holding satellite information. Still looking for a datasheet of the chip to get all the lowdown on the pins.

CeaSaR
Hey, what do I know?
User avatar
CeaSaR
Posts: 1949
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by CeaSaR »

Found a decent datasheet - http://www.datasheetspdf.com/PDF/NEO-6M/866235/2
If the PPS pin runs when there IS NO GPS signal, then that could be configured as a 1second time base (or whatever time base you need) to keep the clock running. If not, well...

CeaSaR
Hey, what do I know?
User avatar
dacflyer
Posts: 4748
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Contact:

Re: WiFi Clock - what am i looking for ?

Post by dacflyer »

the 1PPS only works when it sees a GPS signal...does not have to be locked on a satellite, just getting the basic time date etc.
i thought the battery was to keep the RTC going.. Hmmm
the clock is getting its time purely from the gps..if the gps looses signal then the time stops.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests