shorting mosfets

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
russlk

shorting mosfets

Post by russlk »

I am at my wit's end. I am building a switching power supply (push-pull with 3524 IC) and the power mosfets are shorting. The mosfets are STW26NM60 (30 amps, 600 volts). I have 300 ohms in series with 560 pF across the primary for damping and 150 volt MOV across each half of the primary. I don't see a lot of spiking at the drain and the driver is NPN/PNP emitter follower, so I don't think the gate voltage is being exceeded (the mosfets have built in zeners also). As I increase the input voltage, the mosfet shorts at about 100 volts DC input. What else can cause the mosfets to short?
Ron H

Re: shorting mosfets

Post by Ron H »

Russ, I'm no expert on switchers, but I've heard of MOSFETs self-destructing due to high frequency oscillation. Do you have really short wires from your drivers to the gates? Have you added a small series resistor (47 ohms or so)? Also, emitter followers will oscillate with capacitive loads (MOSFET gates), which could also kill the MOSFETs. The same resistors will also help this problem.<p>Cheers-
Ron<p>[ August 05, 2003: Message edited by: RonH ]</p>
russlk

Post by russlk »

Thanks for the reply. The NPN/PNP drivers are surface mounted on small PC boards on top of the MOSFETs, the PC board is held by the same screw that holds the TO-247 Mosfet. The lead to the gate is about 1 inch, no resistor, but there is 100 ohms in series with the driver bases.
russlk

Post by russlk »

I tried putting 10 ohms in series with the gate, which has the happy effect of not smoking the driver when the mosfet shorts. The waveforms on my 50 mHz scope are clean, so I am still mistified, and I am running out of mosfets.
rshayes

Post by rshayes »