Problem replacing a failed hard disk

Electronics Computer Programming Q&A
Rodney

Problem replacing a failed hard disk

Post by Rodney »

I have an older computer on which I had installed Ubuntu, a form of Linux. Yesterday, the hard drive failed. I had an older hard drive on the shelf I had taken out of an old computer. I swapped it with the failed one (both Western Digital Pata). Using a Windows boot disk,after changing the BIOS to boot from a floppy, the computer booted up and I could write to the hard disk using the DOS commands copy A:*.* :C and do a DIR on C and it was copied. I then changed the BIOS to boot off the CD and inserted the Ubuntu V8.04 disk into the CD drive to try to reinstall Ubuntu. It started off fine but on step 4 I get the message "No root file system is defined, Please correct this from partitioning menu. I have not found a partitioning menu anywhere. Would using FDisk to partion the hard drive work? As you can see I am a novice at this so any help, no matter how basic, will be appreciated. Thanks
evahle

hard drive

Post by evahle »

Hi Rodney. It's been a long time since I've used Fdisk, but I believe your assumtion is correct. Put your floppy back in and run Fdisk. Then partition the drive in part or in whole as you wish.

Hope this helps.

evahle :smile:
psycho

Post by psycho »

Yeah, but if he could use the drive (i.e. copy files to C:), it would have to be partitioned already. Maybe it wants a non FAT32 file system (NTFS?). Or, it might want a FAT32 if it has an NTFS... Been a long time since I messed with linux.

Kevin
SETEC_Astronomy

Post by SETEC_Astronomy »