brighten 12v light (LED?) over 2 minutes; low voltage trigge

This is the place for any magazine-related discussions that don't fit in any of the column discussion boards below.
remotecamera

brighten 12v light (LED?) over 2 minutes; low voltage trigge

Post by remotecamera »

I wanted to ask you for some direction regarding a project I need help with.

I am using a motion-activated video camera system to record wildlife in the wilderness. The animals are fearful of sudden bright light. One solution I heard about is for the light to gradually brighten over a 1-2 minute time period. I am using a PIC chip-based circuit I purchased to control my camera in response to a heat/motion sensor. The board controls 12vDC light up to 3 amps. I want to use an LED light which should be below the 3amp limit of the motion circuit.

I am not experienced with building electronic circuits, although I can do some basic wiring. Can someone suggest what I would need or can someone offer to help me build a light controller that I can use to control my 12volt light (or LED if I switch to that)? I understand a phase-wave modulator would help with the dimming, but I don't know where to begin to start. I saw a summary of two Nuts & bolts articles on this kind of thing, but I have not purchased these articles yet. I am willing to pay expenses and time for help with this project.

Thanks

Bryan
Viking

Post by Viking »

Hello Bryan,
I should be able to design/build this for you, FOC.
As I understand it, your 'PIC' board supplies a switched 12VDC supply, when the sensor is activated? Is this correct.
Then you want a circuit operating on this switched supply to gradually bring on a 12V light. Please give specification of this light.
Also you mention a 12V LED light. Is this something that you are intending to build or do you have one already? If you have one already, give specification.