It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:09 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 3:02 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4253
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
anyone here use Yahoo and have this issue ??
i keep getting this pop up, and it is related to the ad's at the bottom of the main messenger window ( friend list )

the pop up shows this..

do you want to view the webpage content that was delivered securely? yes - no

the webpage contains content that will NOT be delivered using a secure HTTPS connection which could comprise the security of the entire webpage

this just started over the weekend.. it has become annoying..pops up every few minutes..
i am using FireFox.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:01 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:40 pm
Posts: 90
it has something to do with internet explorer, just open IE and click into the options, then change the security options to default, and see if that helps, if not, there should be something that you can add to the trusted list in those options that would fix that issue. Other than that, Im not sure.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2015 11:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4253
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
but i do not use EI at all.. only fire fox.. the ad's are generated in the messenger window where all your friends list is..
not even sure if i have IE on my laptop..
if i knew where in registry, i'd find a way to disable the ad's all together.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:15 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 4:40 pm
Posts: 90
yea, it doesnt matter if you use IE or not, most messengers like skype, yahoo, etc use IE's internet settings as system wide settings for internet connection. As for the registry fix to disable the ads, open regedit and go to " HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Yahoo\pager\Locale" and look for "Enable Messenger Ad", just change it from a 1 to a 0 and restart yahoo messenger, ads should dissappear then.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 5:16 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4253
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
ok, cool. thanks for the info.. i'll let you know the results when i get home later on..


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 1:52 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4253
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
ok, i got things straightened out in IE, but the regedit did not work, but i found something that did..
[url]
http://blogbynoob.blogspot.com/2013/02/ ... yahoo.html[/url]

now i just have a empty box that says..."navigation canceled" seems to work so far.

now if i could get my archives back that got missing long ago with a update.. i have current version, but there is no more archiveing... there is supposed to be a archiving in yahoo mail...but i do not have a yahoo mail account.. i only use messenger.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Yahoo messenger issue..
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2015 7:05 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4253
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
well it worked for a while, now the ads are back again..
i had this script posted in a file..

notepad %systemroot%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

and i added ( highlighted in red )

# Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
# 127.0.0.1 localhost
# ::1 localhost
# 127.0.0.1 insider.msg.yahoo.com
# 127.0.0.1 tr.adinterax.com
# 127.0.0.1 ad.yieldmanager.com
# 127.0.0.1 content.yieldmanager.edgesuite.net
# 127.0.0.1 us.adserver.yahoo.com
# 127.0.0.1 sg.adserver.yahoo.com



did i copy it right or should i change anything or add to it ?


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron