It is currently Mon May 22, 2017 10:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4182
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
Have a issue where parts of the screen, where you can't see some of the graphics or buttons.
Wondering if it is a setting or something, if i hover pointer over it, i can see where i am, but button is either gone or not colored in to see it easily,,same with search boxes. Like on Google search box etc.
Any tips ?


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:17 pm
Posts: 1225
What is your current resolution settings?

Most of XP wants to be in 600 x 800.

But I've found that 1024 x 768 is better for viewing the pop up boxes, so you can see all the buttons.
I then had to tweak the Font, and Icon settings, so they were easier to read.
When I went to the higher resolution.


Signed: Janitor Tzap

P.S.
Sorry for this late reply.
Been busy replacing {perfectly good} obsolete Computer Equipment, Taxes, Refurbishing Stereo Equipment, and other life traumatizing events.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:47 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4182
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
the buttons are there, but not filled in..you don't know what the button is..
there needs to be a way to post pictures or screen shots onto here with out using a hosting site..


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4182
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
[url]<a href="http://s1129.photobucket.com/user/dacflyer/media/screen%20shot_zpssu9dcvbw.jpg.html" target="_blank"><img src="http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m504/dacflyer/screen%20shot_zpssu9dcvbw.jpg" border="0" alt="screen shot photo screen shot_zpssu9dcvbw.jpg"/></a>[/url]

this, should be visable..


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:32 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4182
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
link did not work...trying again..

Image


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:36 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 4182
Location: USA / North Carolina / Fayetteville
HA!, just figured it out ! HIGH CONTRAST WAS ENABLED, disabled it and now all is good..
i get a nice rich picture now.

Image


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 1:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:17 pm
Posts: 1225
Cool. 8)

Well, you could've had my problem......
Two 1TB SATA HDD's crashed on me. :(

1TB SATA HDD's are cheap now.
But having both HDD's fail at the same time really sucked.
Especially since they died on the weekend, and none of the local computer shops were open. :mad:

Thus, I didn't get my computer back up and running till late Monday night.

I currently am running Spinrite on the one HDD to see how bad it is.
Then I'll run it on the other HDD and see what kind of condition it's in.

If one isn't that bad.
I'll get a 3.5" HHD enclosure case, and use the one as an External Backup Drive.


Signed: Janitor Tzap


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1556
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Janitor Tzap,
Try BING ( Boot It Next Generation) on your failed drives. You can recover most, if not all data on a HDD as long as it isn't toast / BING can see the drive. That's how I saved my last one when it lost its MBR. There are instructions on how to put it on a USB drive for boot purposes, but I think I just copied the files over and it worked fine.

You can find it here: https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/booti ... ration.htm


CeaSaR



_________________
Hey, what do I know?
Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: windows xp sp3 issue.
PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 11:04 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 4:17 pm
Posts: 1225
CeaSaR wrote:
Janitor Tzap,
Try BING ( Boot It Next Generation) on your failed drives. You can recover most, if not all data on a HDD as long as it isn't toast / BING can see the drive. That's how I saved my last one when it lost its MBR. There are instructions on how to put it on a USB drive for boot purposes, but I think I just copied the files over and it worked fine.

You can find it here: https://www.terabyteunlimited.com/booti ... ration.htm


CeaSaR
Thanks for the link. :)

But, I've already got Seagate Seatools on a USB Thumb Drive that I'm going to use.

I cloned the two drives to a new good drive.
So, my main system is up and running fine now.

Thus, I can do a through check of the two failed drives, as to what happen too them.
So far the one is clicking like a banshee.{HITACHI HDE721010SLA330} 12/2009
The other is nice and quite.{Seagate Barracuda ST31000333AS} 02/15/2009


Signed: Janitor Tzap


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron