It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 11:08 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 8:57 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:57 am
Posts: 5
I have had my trusty Fluke 77 for decades. I am listing some JBL recone kits on eBay and wanted to include a picture of the DC ohms readings of the voice coils.

I saw the readings varying by .5 ohms up and down as I watched. I replaced the battery. No joy. With leads shorted reading varied from 0 to .2 ohms. Testing was done on a wood table with no AC source within 8 feet.

Should I give up the ghost on this unit? Is this normal? Is there anything I can do?

A new 117 costs $175 with lead set on Amazon. It does measure frequency. :smile:


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:47 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 2284
Location: ASHTABULA,OHIO
Make sure the lead jacks on the meter are perfectly clean, then insert a short banana/banana jumper (one that is known good) into the meter jacks and note readings. My Fluke never gives consistent readings under the situation you described. The culprit has always been poor contact resistance of the probes (the jaw type are the worst). Occasionally a cleaning of the meter jacks is necessary.


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 5:03 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:57 am
Posts: 5
Well, twisted the plugin leads in the sockets on the meter a few times and in the probes. Shorting the leads get a 0.1 initially then it drops to 0.0 and stays. Thanks.

I really wanted the 117. :smile:


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 1:01 am
Posts: 1598
Location: Phoenixville, PA USA
Darn, I was going to suggest that, but Robert beat me to it. :)

Well, you can always disregard that advice and buy the 117 anyway. You can never have too many meters. :D



_________________
Hey, what do I know?
Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:16 pm 

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:57 am
Posts: 5
Well, I gave into my geek and bought the 117. Had it delivered to my Vegas house. I already had a Fluke there but did not know what is was when I ordered the 117. Found it was a 81438.

With leads shorted the 117 measures a steady 0.1 ohms. Using the same leads the 81438 starts at 0.2 but then dropped to a steady 0.1

A little research shows the 81438 was apparently a Sears model Fluke 111.

Fluke 77 in CA, 117 in NV. Guess I need to buy another house to house the 81438. :grin:


Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fluke 77 behavior
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:10 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:11 pm
Posts: 1308
Location: Maryland
If you used a venerable Simpson 360 or Triplett 630......
That would not have been a problem :???:



_________________
Len

“To invent, you need a good imagination and a big pile of junk.” (T. Edison)
"I must be on the way to success since I already have the junk". (Me)
Offline
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron